Front cover image for Battleships of World War I & World War II

Battleships of World War I & World War II

E. V. Martindale (Author)
"For centuries, battleships provided overwhelming firepower at sea. They were not only a major instrument of warfare, but a visible emblem of a nation's power, wealth and pride. The rise of the aircraft carrier following the Japanese aerial strike on Pearl Harbor in 1941 highlighted the vulnerabilities of the battleship, bringing about its demise as a dominant class of warship. This book offers a detailed guide to the major types of battleships to fight in the two World Wars. Explore HMS Dreadnought, the first of a class of fast, big-gun battleships to be developed at the beginning of the 20th century; see the great capital ships that exchanged salvos at the battle of Jutland, including the German battlecruiser Derfflinger, which sank the British battleship Queen Mary; find out about the destruction of HMS Hood, which exploded after exchanging fire with the Bismarck, which itself was sunk after a trans-Atlantic chase by a combination of battery fire and aircraft-launched torpedoes; and be amazed at the 'super-battleship' Yamato, which despite its size and firepower, made minimal contribution to Japan's war effort and was sunk by air attack during the defence of Okinawa." -- publisher
Print Book, English, 2023
Amber Books, London, 2023
128 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm.
9781838862947, 1838862943
Contents to include: World War I: Jaureguiberry 1896 Canopus 1899 Kearsarge 1900 Mikasa 1902 Tsessarevitch 1903 Dreadnought 1906 Schleswig-Holstein 1908 South Carolina 1910 Hercules 1911 Lion 1912 Wyoming 1912 Derfflinger 1913 Kongo 1913 Royal Oak (or Revenge) 1914 Texas 1914 Andrea Doria 1915 Queen Elizabeth 1915 Barham 1915 Canada 1915 Fuso 1915 Provence 1915 Nevada 1916 Bayern 1916 Royal Sovereign 1916 Courageous 1917 Ise 1917 Mississippi 1917 World War II: Hood 1920 Nagato 1920 Jaime I 1922 Rodney 1927 Lutzow/Graf Spee 1933 Gneisenau 1938 Dunkerque 1937 Scharnhorst 1939 Littorio 1940 Bismarck 1940 Prince of Wales 1940 Richelieu 1940 Yamato 1940 Vittorio Veneto 1940 Prince of Wales 1941 Tirpitz 1941 Howe 1942 Indiana 1942 Iowa 1943 Missouri 1944 Guam 1944 Vanguard 1946