Front cover image for The works of Shakespear. In six volumes

The works of Shakespear. In six volumes

Print Book, English, 1745
Printed for J. and P. Knapton, London, 1745
6 volumes frontispiece, portrait 21 cm
v. 1. Preface. Mr. Pope's preface. Some account of the life, &c. of Mr. William Shakespeare. by N. Rowe. Comedies: The tempest. A midsummer night's dream. The two gentlemen of Verona. The merry wives of Windsor. Measure for measure. The comedy of errors. Much ado about nothing
v. 2. Comedies: The merchant of Venice. Love's labour's lost. As you like it. The taming of the shrew. All's well that end's well. Twelfth night: or, What you will. The winter's tale
v. 3. Historical plays: King Lear. King John. King Richard II. King Henry IV, pt. I-II. King Henry V
v. 4. Historical plays: King Henry VI, pt. I-III. King Richard III. King Henry VIII
v. 5. Tragedies: Timon of Athens. Coriolanus. Julius Cæsar. Antony and Cleopatra. Titus Andronicus. Macbeth
v. 6. Tragedies: Troilus and Cressida. Cymbeline. Romeo and Juliet. Hamlet. Othello. Glossary
Title vignette
The above title is prefixed to v. 1 only: v. 2-6 have title: The works of Mr. William Shakespear. The latter title appears also in v. 1 as added title page
Edited by Sir Thomas Hanmer, who followed Pope's edition of 1723-25
Spine title: Hanmer's Shakespear